GUARANTEED CHRISTMAS DELIVERY - ORDER BY DECEMBER 20TH - FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $150
LoginorRegister
Cart
Your cart is empty

Skerries Mills

A popular interactive attraction, Skerries Mills is a four-storey museum featuring two working windmills and a watermill. The venue aims to preserve the history of mills in Ireland. The mill attracts a broad mix of visitors, including families with children, while its cafe is popular with locals. Located in a scenic coastal town 30 kilometres / 18.5 miles north of Dublin City, visitors can explore the workings of an authentic 16th century mill complex, which include:

  • Five-sail windmill
  • Thatched four-sail windmill
  • Watermill
  • Bakery
  • Mill pond
  • Wetlands

It is possible to take pictures of the exterior, or visit the coffee shop, without taking the tour. To visit the mill interior, however, visitors must take the guided tour. 

Museum / Guided Tour

Visitors can take 50-minute guided tours that allow them to interact with the equipment, grind flour, and watch the waterwheel in action as it turns. They can browse and examine interesting old milling equipment including various mill stones, elevators, shakes, blowers, and winnowers. There is a fantastic scenic view from the top of the mills. 

Watermill Cafe and Gift Shop

The Watermill Cafe, located on the first floor, sells quality teas and coffees, and home-made scones. The gift and souvenir shop is a delight for visitors that are searching for surprisingly unique items. 

Opening Times and Fees

April to September 10 AM-5:30 PM October to March 10 AM-4:30 PM Closed on These Dates 24-28 December and 31 December – 2 January. 

Fees

  • Adults €6.50
  • Senior Citizens/Students €5.00.
  • Child €3.50

Farmer's Market

There is a farmer's market here each Saturday from 10am to 4pm. 

History

The mills were originally part of an 16th century Augustinian priory. An on-site bakery was added in about 1840. While stone-ground milling declined in the 1930's, the bakery --- known as the Old Mill Bakery ---  continued to flourish for a further fifty years, until it was destroyed by a fire in 1986. In 1999, the local council restored the site and named it Skerries Mills.

Official Site

http://www.skerriesmills.org/

Image

Skerries Mills. Image by Peter Rukavina

Also on the blog

Comments

No comments have been made

Leave a comment