This County Monaghan business exhibits and sells the results of the popular, centuries old craft known as Carrickmacross Lace. It originated in the town of the same name in 1820, when a woman named Mrs. Grey Porter returned from her honeymoon and joined with her maid, Ann Steadman, to create appliqué designs loosely based on those she had seen in Italy.
They taught classes in the craft to local women, who used lace making to support their families until the arrival of the Famine Years. When they passed, a new technique called guipure emerged in the area. The two different techniques are classified as the same style—officially named Carrickmacross Lace at the Dublin Workingman’s Exhibition of 1872.
The Sisters of St. Louis took on and expanded the scope of the craft when they came to the area in the 1890s. They passed their knowledge on in classes held for local women.
Carrickmacross Lace has been used by royalty over the centuries, and was worn by the late Princess Diana on her wedding dress. At Carrickmacross Lace Gallery, visitors can see items of clothing made for special occasions such as weddings and christenings, and home furnishings, and other items available to purchase or just to admire for their intricate beauty.