The building that houses the Crawford Municipal Art Gallery dates back to 1724. It is located on Emmet's Place, next to the Cork Opera house. Admission to Crawford Municipal Art Gallery is FREE.
- The building functioned as a custom house on what was then known as the King’s Dock.
- As the port operations expanded, need for more space spurred on the erection of a new custom house, and functions were moved
- In 1850, the building became a Government School of Design
- An addition was constructed in 1884 due to the need to accommodate expanding enrolments
- The patron for this project was William Horatio Crawford, so the institute was renamed the Crawford Municipal School of Art.
- Early in the 19th century, it became an art school and gallery, and in 1979, it became The Crawford Municipal Art Gallery when the art school moved into another building
- Recent renovations and the addition of more than 10,000 square feet of gallery have created space for visiting exhibitions
Exhibitions and Facilities
- The permanent collection features landscapes of the Cork area from the 18th and 19th centuries by artists such as William Leech, James Barry, Daniel Maclise and Nathaniel Grogan
- In addition to paintings, the gallery showcases a variety of sculptures, glass and silver pieces
- There is a well-stocked bookstore and a café located on the premises
Admission to these exhibitions is FREE.