Save $20 when you spend $100 or more using code ACOOL20 at checkout
LoginorRegister
Cart
Your cart is empty
Total $0.00
View Cart Proceed To Checkout   All transactions take place in $USD at current exchange rate

Aran Inspired

Old Jameson Distillery

The original site of John Jameson's distillery on Bow St. Dublin West, Dublin is now a museum offering visitors an education in the distillation of whiskey from grain to bottle. The Jameson Company was established in 1780 and produced one of Ireland's most famous whiskies for nearly 200 years until local distillers merged to form the Irish Distillers. The brand was acquired by French drinks conglomerate Pernod Ricard in 1988. The Jameson distillery operation was moved to an ultra -modern establishment in Middleton, County Cork and still produces Jameson Whiskey, although vatting still takes place at the Bow St. location. When Jameson acquired the distillery on Bow St. in 1780, it was producing 30,000 gallons annually.

Read full article
The General Post Office (GPO)

The General Post Office (GPO) on the west side of O'Connell Street dominates Dublin's main thoroughfare. Constructed from impressive mountain granite, the three-storey high building is still a functioning post office. The GPO has three iconic statues on its roof: Mercury on the right, Fidelity on the left, and Hibernia (the old Roman name for Ireland) in the centre. Due to its dramatic role in the events of Easter 1916, which led up to Irish Independence, The GPO remains a key symbol of Irish nationalism --- indeed, some regard the building as a national monument. Several Irish patriots are commemorated in the main hall. The main hall also includes an impressive bronze sculpture depicting the death of Cuchulainn, the mythical hound of Ulster. Created by artist Oliver Shepherd, it was dedicated to the participants of the 1916 Easter Rising.

Read full article
O'Connell Street

Central Dublin's busiest street is a far cry from the original vision of its owner, an 18th century aristocrat named Luke Gardiner. He dreamed of building a peaceful area of residential structures, surrounding the quiet serenity of a tree-studded mall. His vision was altered in 1790, when the Carlisle Bridge -- today known as the O'Connell Bridge -- was built. The connection turned the street into the main artery of historical Dublin as well as the modern city of today.

Read full article
Chester Beatty Library

The Chester Beatty library, former European museum of the year, contains many internationally important artefacts. Stand-out examples of the library's unique attractions include the oldest manuscript, in any language, of Mark's Gospel, of Paul's Letters and of the Book of Revelations. This very special treasure of Dublin exists courtesy of Sir Alfred Chester Beatty (1875-1968), an American of Irish descent who made his millions in the Canadian mining industry.

Read full article
Dublinia - The Viking & Medieval Dublin Experience

Dublinia combines modern and medieval Dublin for an educational step back into the city’s Viking era. Opened in 1993 and redeveloped in 2010, the buildings and streets have been recreated to offer the visitor a view of what everyday life was like during that period of Irish history. Actors walk the exhibit in full period dress and encourage visitors to join in. The main exhibits use high-tech audiovisual and computer displays and there is a scale model of Dublin circa 1500. There is a medieval maze, a life-sized reconstruction based on the 13th century dockside at wood quay, and an excellent view from the tower.

Read full article
Temple Bar

Temple Bar is Dubln's Bohemian district, bustling with pubs, cafes, restaurants and craft shops on busy cobbled streets. The name Temple Bar refers to a special group of Dublin properties, situated in a strip alongside the River Liffey (hence the name bar, which refers to a riverside path). Sir William Temple, an Anglo-Irish aristocrat from the early 1600s, was once the owner of the land that still bears his name. In the 1800's, Temple Bar was known as a thriving centre for a variety of small and family-owned businesses. The area declined steadily over the years, until the 1960's arrived along with plans for a new bus station. Artists and small business owners opened galleries, shops, pubs, hotels and restaurants in anticipation of the coming flood of traveller traffic.

Read full article
Malahide Castle

Malahide Castle is set on 250 acres of park land in the picturesque seaside town of Malahide. For nearly 800 years it served as both a fortress and a private home. It is said to be the oldest Irish castle continuously inhabited by the same family, the Talbots. They lived here from 1185 right up until the last Talbot died in 1973. Legend has it that 14 Talbot cousins breakfasted at the castle before riding out to the Battle of the Boyne in 1690 never to return. The house is beautifully furnished with period furniture and also boasts an extensive collection of Irish portrait paintings, mainly from the National Gallery.

Read full article
Grafton Street

Grafton Street is Dublin's premier and most stylish shopping street. Running from St. Stephen's Green to the front entrance of Trinity College, the pedestrians-only street features Dublin's most exclusive department store, Brown Thomas. In 2008 --- the final year of Ireland's "Celtic Tiger" financial boom period --- Grafton Street was the fifth most expensive shopping street in the world. The street is 200 yards / 180 metres long. Many smaller alleyways  and side-streets branch off Grafton and are filled with dozens of independent shops, flower sellers, and some of the south side's favourite pubs, such as Neary's and Bruxelles.

Read full article
The Guinness Storehouse

Nicknamed the 'Disneyland of Beer', the Guinness Storehouse is the visitor centre for the most famous brewery in the world. Founded by Arthur Guinness at the ramshackle site of the old St. James Gate Guinness Brewery in 1759, it has become one of the most well known and prosperous corporations in Ireland. The company is widely recognized for its production of a distinctive dark stout with a thick, creamy head. Although the Guinness factory is not open to visitors, the four story building next door, known as The Guinness Storehouse, contains a variety of visitor attractions, and is Dublin's most popular tourist attraction.

Read full article
Gaiety Theatre

This charming Victorian venue with its distinct Venetian facade is Dublin's longest running theatre, and has always been a highly popular venue. Opened in 1871, the Gaiety Theatre has long showcased a mix of Irish and international entertainment. Acts may typically include Opera, Musicals, Drama, including Irish (original and classic), Comedy, Musicals, Concerts, Dance, Classical Recitals and Pantos.

Read full article