Save $20 when you spend $100 or more using code ACOOL20 at checkout
LoginorRegister
Cart
Your cart is empty
Total $0.00
View Cart Proceed To Checkout   All transactions take place in $USD at current exchange rate

Aran Inspired

Corracloona Megalithic Tomb / Prince Connell's Grave

This ancient burial site located at Corracloona, a small townland (parcel of land) near the village of Kiltyclogher in County Leitrim is known locally as Prince Connell’s Grave. While it may look like just a bunch of rocks in a field, this rectangular shaped "court tomb" in fact dates from the early Bronze Age (2,000 - 1500 BC).

Read full article
Garadice Lake

Located in a remote, scenic setting, Garadice Lough in County Leitrim is part of the 40 mile / 63 km Shannon-Erne waterway, traversable by boat. Renowned among fishing enthusiasts, Garadice is a medium sized lake by Irish standards, occupying roughly 1200-acres / 5 square km. The lake is 5 metres / 16 feet deep, although in places it sinks three times deeper.

Read full article
The Glens Centre

This unique, intimate arts venue (140 seats) in rural Manorhamilton, County Leitrim is located in a former Methodist Church, built in the 1820s. Throughout the year, the venue offers a programme of musical, theatre and film performances, as well as readings by local authors, for locals and visitors. Traditional Irish music is often on the "menu". On average, there are typically one or two performances at the Glens Centre on any given week.

Read full article
Lough Rynn House and Gardens

In 1832, the Clements, also known as the Earls of Leitrim, began building a remarkable estate on a scenic isthmus between loughs Rynn and Erew. Humans have occupied the surrounding area since prehistoric times, and there is plenty of proof located on this particular property. Behind the manor house, there are several ruins to be explored, including those of a Neolithic Era tomb on a rise called Druid’s Hill that dates back to 2000 BC.

Read full article
Sliabh An Iarainn Visitor Centre

This Heritage Centre, located in the Sliabh An Iarainn and Arigna mountains, gathers a variety of cultural exhibits under one roof. Here you can learn about the institutions and industries important to the local people over the years – specifically iron and coal mining, the lakes and canals, and the Cavan & Leitrim Railway. An impressive audiovisual presentation lays out the historical background of the area, and gives the viewer a sense of the area’s unique beauty.

Read full article
Parkes Castle

Parkes Castle sits proudly on the shoreline of Lough Gill at Five Mile Burren, just outside the town of Dromahair in County Leitrim, and only a few miles from Sligo town. The splendour of this 17th century castle can be seen from a distance as you approach it, by driving around the lake. Restored in the last decade to its youthful glory, the castle encloses a fortified manor house, which forms one part of its defensive walls (two of which feature round turrets). Rising three stories high right against the lake shore, the stone building also boasts wide mullioned windows and gabled roofs. The interior of the castle was restored using traditional methods of fine workmanship in Irish oak.

Read full article
Carrick-on-Shannon

Carrick-on-Shannon is a small, picturesque town on the River Shannon, and is the main town of County Leitrim. It is currently the boating capital of the Irish inland waterways, and features an attractive marina. The regional office of the newly created All Ireland Waterway Authority is located here as well. Historically, Carrick-on-Shannon was a trade depot for goods coming from the ports of Limerick, Athlone and Dublin. When the Grand Canal Company closed in 1960, the town suffered. The trade business was gradually replaced by tourism, as the River Shannon and connecting lakes and waterways became the centre for holiday cruises.

Read full article
Costello Memorial Chapel, Carrick-on-Shannon

This tiny but exquisite memorial was designed and built in Carrick-on-Shannon as a burial place for Mary Josephine Costello, who died on October 6, 1877. She was 47 years old when she died. Her husband, Edward Costello, was a local trader. He had her body embalmed and placed with a nearby nunnery for safekeeping while the chapel was being built. Completed in April of 1879, the dedication ceremony included a Requiem Mass for Mary. Her beautifully adorned casket was placed in a sunken area to the left of the entrance door, where it was covered with a specially made glass. Until 1897, Mass was said on every first Friday of the month in the chapel.

Read full article
Dock Arts Centre

This former Courthouse and Gaol, now a thriving arts centre, was built in Carrick-on-Shannon in 1821. Overlooking the beautiful river Shannon, the building has been fully restored, and houses a 100+ seat performance space, three art galleries, artists studios, and an arts education room. Performances, exhibitions, classes and workshops are regularly held. Designed by William Farrell. It housed the district courts and Grand Jury of Leitrim County. The buildings were connected by an underground tunnel.

Read full article
Carrick-on-Shannon Workhouse and Famine Memorial

 The Workhouse was built in 1841 as one of three planned for County Leitrim – at Carrick-on-Shannon, Manorhamilton and Mohill – by the Poor Law enacted in 1838. This workhouse in Carrick-on-Shannon is the only one that survives. It had a capacity for 800 inmates, which was continually tested in its initial years of operation. It was run by a board of Guardians composed of Justices of the Peace and various local property owners, and handled on a day to day basis by the Master and Matron. Staff members included chaplains, a record clerk, medical officer and school teachers. Families who came to live at the workhouse were forced to dwell in separate quarters, and children met with their parents only on Sundays.

Read full article